Tuesday, August 21, 2012

Kincaid XC Series Wrap Up!

What a wonderful season out at Kincaid!

Some quick facts:
  • 214 people participated in this year's XC series (!!!)
  • our largest category, Sport Men, had 53 participants
  • first year offering a shortened course - we had 27 short coursers!
  • courses had more single track than ever - thanks to the sweet STA trails!!!
  • every single Tuesday night race was sunny and beautiful! (how is that even possible?)
  • more junior (under 18) racers than ever - 37 male and female juniors
  • 38 beginner racers! that's more than we've ever had, and remember, our beginners eventually (or occasionally) turn into our experts, so we need to keep them around! 
  • we had another amazing group of volunteers - people that dedicate lots of time and sweat and occasional blood to get the courses cleared, marked, and cleaned, along with the people that help with registration and timing
    • John Lackey, Tim Berntson, Jeff Ellis, Kara Oney, Alex Wilson, Chet Fehrmann, Carey Grumelot, Margaret Cunningham: our rockstar course team
    • Emily Henderson, Alycia Beiergrohslein, Sara Rottman, Martha Piersma, Chet Fehrmann: the group of patient people that got you registered for each race & time the race
    • all the other people that have volunteered some time here and there - there are many of you! Please know that I appreciate the help of each and every one of you.We honestly couldn't do it without ALL of you!
  • Check out Brian Looney's pictures of Kincaid XC#5!

Congratulations to everyone! 
Top THREE racers in each category:
Expert Men - Carey Grumelot, John Lackey, Tim Berntson
Expert Women - Jessie Donahue, Danelle Winn, Sheryl Loan
Master Men - Bruce Ross, Darin Marin, Bob Cox
Master Women - Margaret Cunningham, Judy Kanady, Melinda Greig-Walker
Sport Men - David Ayers, Clinton Hodges III, Simon Lynn
Sport Women - Kara Oney, Jill Simek, Laura Gardner
Beginner Men - John Lynn, Anthony Stong, Scott Medlin
Beginner Women - Kristy Despars, Lori Sivits, Erica White
Junior Men - Max Beiergrohslein, Hunter Eid, Ethan Lynn
Junior Women - Ana Jager, Irene Bembenek, Erin Sivits
Short Course Men - Jackson Evans, Tasman Duenow, Tom Corbin
Short Course Women - Tara Kulin, Cathy Coon, Ursula Volz

If you see your name above, it means you will be awarded at the Awards BBQ this Sunday, August 26! All the info on the Awards BBQ can be found by clicking on the State Champs tab at the top of this blog. PLEASE COME!!! Better yet, please come and RACE in the state champs! 4 awesome races in 4 days! Check out all the details.